Akron Law welcomes students from Kent State in new 3+3 program


The University of Akron School of Law (Akron Law) and Kent State University recently finalized a Juris Doctor degree partnership program to create a seamless, sequential system for students to obtain a bachelor’s degree from Kent State and a Juris Doctor degree from Akron Law in only six years. 

The collaborative program, commonly referred to as a three plus three degree program (3+3 program), offers broader educational opportunities for eligible students, allowing them to complete both degrees in a shorter time period than might otherwise be possible and at a lower cost.

“We are delighted to begin this new 3+3 partnership with Kent State,” said Emily Janoski-Haehlen, dean of the School of Law. “Year in year out, the law school enrolls more incoming students from Kent State than any other school besides the University of Akron, so we believe there will be a lot of interest in this new program.”

Blake C. McDowell Law Center School of Law

The C. Blake McDowell Law Center, located on The University of Akron campus.

“Kent State is thrilled to offer this opportunity for our students, which allows them to gain such an amazing educational experience through Kent State University and the University of Akron School of Law while also saving time and money,” said Melody Tankersley, Ph.D., senior vice president and provost of Kent State. “Our students will be able to transition seamlessly to receive both their undergraduate and law degrees in six years instead of seven.”

Interested students may apply for inclusion into the 3+3 program at their initial application for admission to Kent State or at any time while enrolled at Kent State. After selection and admission, students will automatically be admitted into Akron Law after they complete three years or more of a baccalaureate degree, and if they maintain good academic, financial and disciplinary standing at Kent State, satisfy the Akron Law character and fitness standards, and meet LSAT and grade point average standards. Kent State will have discretion to select which major will be eligible for the program. The school currently offers degree pathways for 11 majors.

This is the fifth 3+3 program partnership established by Akron Law. Other partners include Walsh University, the University of Mount Union, Robert Morris University, and Youngstown State University. University of Akron students enrolled in political science or philosophy can also take advantage of the 3+3 with Akron Law.

For more information about the Kent State to University of Akron School of Law Juris Doctor 3+3 Program, or any of the other University of Akron partnerships, visit 博菜网站大全 Law Admissions or email lawadmissions@heritagemethanam.com.